I am not making this up. I walk into the Marlins locker room this morning with John Silverman, the equipment manager. I’m not in the locker room more than one minute when I hear to my left, “Hey, are you the cup guy?” It was outfielder Luis Gonzalez (who apparently wanted a cup because he was about to do some infield drills).

I kind of stumbled out some sort of answer like “um, yeah, I guess so.” He wanted to know about the Shock Jock because Matt Treanor, a long time All-Star catcher, had been talking it up the last few days. I didn’t have any with me so I told him I could have some sent down for him to try.

A little bit later Matt came in and after we went over his gear and shot the breeze for a while, he pulled out an extra Shock Jock cup he had tucked away and handed it over to Luis. Luis’ first comment was something like “Man, I could eat cereal out of this thing,” giving the impression that it is too big.** But he quickly popped it into place and in a few minutes he was saying how good it felt.

** The Shock Jock cup might look a little big because the very top is a bit wide. This is by design. The wide top helps distribute any impact over a large area for better (and safer) energy absorption.   But the cup really is quite narrow where it matters and not bulky.  Also, last week Pete Laforest on the Phillies was saying that one of the things he likes about the Shock Jock is that it is narrow. This is also due to the flexible sides and the exclusive flexible notch we make at the “nose” of the cup. That notch helps a lot with lateral mobility.

shock-blue.jpg

shockjock.jpg
