Early this morning I saw Guillermo Quiroz and Omir Santos at the Baltimore Orioles… such nice guys. On my way out I snapped the picture below. This is the fence that keeps the fans from ransacking the players’ cars and trucks.

autograph_only.jpg

Notice anything odd? Look closely. Closer still. Can you see the slot made in the fence? Just to the right of the sign. It’s only big enough to fit a ball, a fist, and possibly an arm. This is where fans wait anxiously all day long. I can’t even begin to imagine the craziness that surrounds this slot at the end of the day when the players are leaving.

I bet there have been a few limbs lost over the years. “Yep, Jimmy lost his arm back in ’07. It was a rough year. Sure, he walked away with one less arm and hand, but he did not leave empty handed. Nope. He got Kevin Millar’s autograph for grandma. Sometimes you gotta take one for the team.”

Somewhere in Port St. Lucie, Fl,
–stan jr.

